LCS announces new administrative structure for 2019-20 school year

LAPEER, Michigan — At the conclusion of every school year, district officials examine the existing administrative structure and assess needs based on the strengths of our current staff. Because of a few departures in our administrative ranks, 2019-20 will be a significant transition year for the District. 

Lapeer Community Schools (LCS) is excited to announce a new administrative structure that represents a change with respect to specific responsibilities for several principals as well as new building leadership opportunities for others. 

The following changes will take effect on July 1, 2019:

Secondary Level Changes

• Lapeer High School (LHS) Co-Principal Doug Lindsay will remain at LHS and, in addition, assume a portion of the Director of Innovation responsibilities, due to the departure of Ken Janczarek. These responsibilities include dual enrollment, Lapeer Early College and Senior Capstone management.

• Shad Spilski, current Lapeer High School co-principal, will take on a new role as CFI Campus Director and Director of District Athletics. His position will be housed at CFI, home to the District’s Athletic Complex. He will also oversee the Lapeer Homeschool Partnership, Lapeer Virtual and the Community High School program. Two associate principal positions at LHS will also be filled this summer.

• Jeff Stanton, Rolland-Warner 6-7 Campus principal, will transition into the same position at the Zemmer 8-9 Campus following the retirement of Amy Maruca. Wyatt Stevens, current associate principal at R-W, has been named the principal at R-W. Richard Cross, formerly an associate principal and athletic director (AP-AD) for the Capac Community Schools, has been hired as the new AP-AD at the R-W Campus.

• The District will retain Mike Smith as dean at LHS. Smith will assume some of the building athletic management responsibilities given Spilski’s new position. Bob Januzzi, also a dean at LHS, will transition to CFI in the same position. 

Elementary Level Changes

• Due to the departure of Sara Taylor, a new building principal at Mayfield Elementary will be hired this summer. 

• Three current principals will transition into new buildings in the 2019-20 school year: Scott Warren at Turrill Elementary, Katie Jordan at Schickler Elementary and Bob Downey at Murphy Elementary. 

In addition, the District will return deans to Lynch and Mayfield as well as paraprofessional positions to Schickler and Turrill. Murphy will also receive additional paraprofessional support. The return of these positions comes as a direct result of the District’s budget managers process. 

“We are confident this new structure addresses our current and future needs in a financially responsible way,” said LCS Superintendent Matt Wandrie. “This structure allows us to ensure strong building leadership so we can continue to bring the very best experience to our students and parents.”

Wandrie said the District is also considering secretarial support adjustments to better serve the needs of all programs. 

For more information, visit 

Bolt Blog

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s